• Register Today It's free!

Hi. Clutch question

3E

Reaction score
City, State
Portland oregon
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 Explirer 5 speed 4wd
Hi all Explorer enthusiasts. I now know why you're into the Explorers. I just inherited one. It's been sitting for a couple years and I now have it running. I love the way it handles, reminds me of the beloved International Scott I once had.

I came to this forum because, well I am not a mechanic. I know only the basics and I have owned mostly vehicles with automatic transmissions. The fluid resivor for the clutch master cylinder is about dry and I need to bleed it. I did a little YouTube research and think it should be on the bell housing of the transisdion. I couldn't find it. Any help is most appreciated. Thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hi all Explorer enthusiasts. I now know why you're into the Explorers. I just inherited one. It's been sitting for a couple years and I now have it running. I love the way it handles, reminds me of the beloved International Scott I once had.

I came to this forum because, well I am not a mechanic. I know only the basics and I have owned mostly vehicles with automatic transmissions. The fluid resivor for the clutch master cylinder is about dry and I need to bleed it. I did a little YouTube research and think it should be on the bell housing of the transisdion. I couldn't find it. Any help is most appreciated. Thanks.
Sorry about the mess up I'm the title.

Welcome. The slave cylinder is inside the bellhousing, you would have to drop the transmission to change it. There is an inspection view port on the drivers side of bellhousing, with a rubber grommet.