UAW talks stall, tensions rise, what about quality? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

UAW talks stall, tensions rise, what about quality?

LukerDooker

Reaction score
City, State
N.E.
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013Limited 301A TuxBlack

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

They should work in their contract a pay schedule based on Quality as it is really lacking today and sales might be high, but so is the price you pay and the quality is not there.

It's already turned sour. Trying to not rant but I hate unions with a passion.

Unions were a good idea in the early 20th century. Now they are long out-dated.

Treated fairly? Please. As an engineer, I've worked for several very large companies and never been represented by a union. I received good pay and good benefits. Why do those turning wrenches and bucking rivets feel they need to organize? Maybe it's because they are organized that the company feels the need to push the limits. What is the difference between them and engineers?

Companies that have moved their manufacturing to union-free states have flourished. The unions come in, organize BBQs trying to get the people to sign up, the people show up, eat their BBQ and tell the union to take a hike. It's only in those places where the unions are deep seeded that they manage to stay relevant- and I use the term relevant loosely.

And as an engineer I deal with several internal and external shops. Guess which are more productive, cheaper, have quicker turn around and just in general more pleasant to deal with? The non-Union shops. You guessed it.

Did you see Ford has already cancelled OT shifts at the F150 plant in KC and is diverting those supplier parts to the Dearborn Plant while adding extra capacity there.