MAF, Rough running, CEL , 157 and 998, weird idle and related... | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

MAF, Rough running, CEL , 157 and 998, weird idle and related...

Admin BRL

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Sao paulo , Brazil
Year, Model & Trim Level
1993/94 XLT Explorer 4.0
Hello fellows Explorers!

I have tried to do my homework, searching and testing and gathering information. But only here in forum there are 120 PAGES about this subject haha... I read about 80 of them.

So, I think I have to make this right... try to condensate all info as best as I can. I say sorry in advance if I don´t do it right, but believe i put a lot of effort on it.

Background:

I have a lot of experience with old-school EFI systems. I own the "omega club" (the free one, not the paid one) , in Brazil, about chevrolet Omega. I have 4 of them, 93-94-95 and 2006. In other countries these cars are called "Vauxhall Omega, Opel Omega, Cavalier" , etc. And it´s protocol are ALDL, so, somewhat like eec-IV. So, these 4 cars I have restored from scratch. Years on each one.

If anyone want to know wth is it, go ** Clube do Omega Brasil ** . The forum is behind that basic homepage. And the 1st picture are from SpeedHunters, greeeeat them. My car pics are in "AMIGOS" (friends) , then bottom of that page.

With no more delaying, let´s begin:

Important informations:

Battery stays disconnected for long periods, because I don´t use the car.. I am restoring it, was parked 8 years. Bought the car recently to restore it.

Sparks, cables and coil are new. but all info below, I done with old and new parts.
Removed fuse box in engine, cables too, ignition module, to do a great clean, grant these ground points around there and solve some relay malfuncions. all good there now.