Repair or replace

JohnH55

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Lawrence, Kansas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Explorer Sport 4x4
I have a 2001 Explorer Sport 4x4, 4.0 SOHC with 256,000 miles on it. I want some options on what I should do. I'm currently a college student, and commute to school which is about 24 miles one way, and put about 12k-14k miles on my truck a year. My Explorer has a 2-3 transmission flair, and the previous owner didn't change the fluid, so it is burnt. It will need a rebuild. The engine is original and as far as I can tell it has the original timing components. I want to know if I should fix it up and continue using it as my college truck or set it as a back up and buy another car. If I fix it I will rebuild the transmission, and put is HD components, with I low-stall torque converter, red eagle bands, shift kit... For the engine, it doesn't need immediate work, but the hydraulic tensioners are bad it rattles on start up, and the fuel injectors make a very loud clicking sound most of the time, those items would need replaced. I rebuilt the front end 5000 miles before the transmission started going out, and rebuild the AC system. What is everyone's opinion, fix it or buy another car (most likely a Vic) and keep the explorer as a back up.

Thanks,
John

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

@JohnH55

Just sayin' since you asked -

* 19 Year Old Ex w/ 256,000 Miles as a project vehicle.

* Toyota Corolla or Honda Civic as your College Car.

* If you go Crown Vic - try for 2011 - the last year.

* GSA Fleet Vehicle Sales Website: GSA Fleet Vehicle Sales

Its all about what you can afford. Do you have a source of income?