Goofy question about smoke testing for vacuum leaks. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Goofy question about smoke testing for vacuum leaks.

Juanhmi

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Louisville
Year, Model & Trim Level
'99 XLS V6 OHV
So, I got the Amazon smoke machine to test for vacuum leaks, hunting for the source of my lean running codes. I'm an amateur mechanic and I've done a lot on this old thing, but there's still a lot that's new to me. So I plugged the smoke machine into the brake booster line and the only places I see smoke coming out are the IAC, EGR, and the air scoop near the radiator, and a little out of the air filter box. This was with the engine off. Should I see smoke on the idle air control valve and the exhaust gas recirculation doodad or do those two things need attention?

It's worth noting I just did the upper and lower intake gaskets and thankfully I didn't see any leaks from those.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I don't know if smoke can come out the IAC "vent/filter" (see attached diagram) but it should not come out the base "air flow inlet"/"air flow outlet" area where the gasket is.

Smoke should not come out the EGR, if coming out breather holes those are to let the diaphragm inside move and most likely means that diaphragm is cracked.

You are supposed to block off the air intake snorkel before the MAF sensor, (like put a plastic bag over it secured with a strap or rubber band, or at least stuff a dense piece of clothing or towel in, whatever to impede the smoke coming out there) that allows to test intake snorkel leakage of unmetered air after the MAF, and cause far more smoke to go everywhere else.