'12 Explorer Limited vibration under acceleration | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

'12 Explorer Limited vibration under acceleration

AKExplorer12

Reaction score
City, State
Alaska
Year, Model & Trim Level
2012 Explorer Limited
Hello All,
I apologize for the long post but want to give as much info as possible.

Ive searched the forums, reddit and facebook for this issue and cant seem to find a solid answer, but see many have had this problem. I am not a mechanic but do work on general maintenance for all of my cars. I am not inept, but not an expert.

Problem: '12 Explorer limited vibrates under acceleration only. The problem is the acceleration is not consistent. Its worse on some roads than others, It is also present when maintaining highway speed. Sometimes the vibration starts around 40 mph, sometimes it doesn't start until 60 mph. I also think the vibration is coming more so from the passenger side, but I am not certain. It does not seem to be coming from the rear of the vehicle.

Ive had the CEL come on twice but turn off after a cycle.

The passenger side front axel and cv were replaced Winter of 2016 after my slid sideways onto a curb in the snow. A Geico certified shop did the repairs. (I mention this because I personally have heard poor reviews about insurance repair shops)

My passenger side strut stabilizer bar broke this summer and I have replaced it and the front breaks. I would say I first noticed the vibration shortly after the stabilizer bar went out, and the vibration persisted after I fixed it.

Ive heard people say:
Tires- Id say possible, I have not replaced them yet. They were brand new when I bought the car in '16.

CV joint, U joint, - totally possible I have never had those go bad, but the passenger side axel etc. are new so I don't think that's it.