• Register Today It's free!

parasitic draw

shawn s.

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 ford explorer E.B.
Need some help with a parasitic draw.
1997 ford explorer eddie bauer.

I am fairly new to this all that I have tried are things I have researched on the net in past few weeks.

I think I located it and its fuse 13 in the power distribution box.
(Instrument panel fuse panel)The amps drop from 2.7 to .10 amps with the meter set to 10amps.

I just dont know where to go from here.
I did test the battery and the alternator at the parts store,and checked the alternator diode myself.
Checked the battery while off and running with the multimeter.
Just dont know what to do,get a new cluster panel or could there be something cheaper that I could try first?

Thanks for any help.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

What you do is check out YouTube on finding parasitic draw.. Them follow the wire to where the problem is ..

Twice I had this problem and both times it was the voltage regulator. Pull the alt fuse and let it set and see if the battery still draws down.

Twice I had this problem and both times it was the voltage regulator. Pull the alt fuse and let it set and see if the battery still draws down.
Thank you both for the responses.
And when I pull the alt fuse do I keep the fuse 13 from distribution box in or out?

I left the car in driveway for about 14 hrs without the fuse 13 in and my battery is at 11.95 volts.

I pulled the one in the power dist box.

And when I pull the alt fuse do I keep the fuse 13 from distribution box in or out?

I left the car in driveway for about 14 hrs without the fuse 13 in and my battery is at 11.95 volts.

battery is already bad with voltages like that...

battery is already bad with voltages like that...

advance auto did a check and said it was good so i dont know.