• Register Today It's free!

Check Engine Light

wwrightsc

Reaction score
City, State
usa
Year, Model & Trim Level
explorer
Hi! I'm on a road trip and the check engine light just came on. I'm new to this vehicle and I can't find anything that seems to be wrong. It's a '96 Explorer XLT with the 5.0 liter V8 and All Wheel Drive. It's due for an oil change at 113,500 miles and now the odometer reads 112,990, could this be it? Should I take it somewhere immediately? Please help!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hi! I'm on a road trip and the check engine light just came on. I'm new to this vehicle and I can't find anything that seems to be wrong. It's a '96 Explorer XLT with the 5.0 liter V8 and All Wheel Drive. It's due for an oil change at 113,500 miles and now the odometer reads 112,990, could this be it? Should I take it somewhere immediately? Please help!

we here can not help you w/anything till you get them codes read and report back w/them. ;)

How do I get a code?

How do I get a code?

by getting it scanned for codes. since the check engine light is on autozone will do it for free. find a autozone or stop at a shop and pay them to pull the codes..

Advance will also do it for free.

"It's ON"!

Your "check eng." light was not intended to alert you to possible devastating consequences, such as loss of engine oil pressure, overheating, etc.

It's purpose is to ensure that the engine's operation remains within the specifications established for it's exhaust emissions. However, continuing to drive the vehicle for a long period with the light "on" could prove damaging, in the event that one of the Engine Control Sensors critical to fuel mixture, or ignition spark advance, for example, is grossly screwing up.