Smell of burnt oil and other things. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Smell of burnt oil and other things.

BRJ2012

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 Ford Explorer
I want to start off by staying that I've had my license since may so im still new at driving. This is my first winter driving in the cold, so i have some question regarding how my car runs.

I have a 1997 Ford explorer XLT v8 5.0, and when winter came, I started to realize that my car idles louder, meaning my exhaust seems louder, having a more throaty sound (if that makes sense), and my RPMs at idle are slightly higher than they normally are when i first start my car when it's cold.

I drove to work today, and when i walked in front of my car, i could smell the scent of burnt oil. I did get my oil change 2 weeks ago. and someone told me that after a new oil change, the car will burn a little oil. Can anyone confirm that?

And some that bit of info. I do have a slow leak from my waterpump, and i am going to get that fixed. For years you could hear the pistons move from in the cabin of the car whenever you accelerate.

If anyone could explain the things im experiencing? I'm just very paranoid because it's an older car.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

1) Knowing something about the history of this vehicle (mileage, previous repairs, oil consumption, etc.) would help.
2) Higher initial idling in cold weather sounds normal to me.
3) The 'throaty sound' may indicate a crack in the exhaust manifold. If you have the tubular version (quite likely for a '97), that's a common problem.