• Register Today It's free!

2002 Explorer will not start

wolfeman351

Reaction score
City, State
Kansas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 Ford Explorer
Howdy Ya'll. My first post here. I am excited not only to get help but to help others. I have been working on Fords for 30+ years as a hobbiest. Built a couple race cars and am restoring my highschool hot rod 1969 Mercury Cougar. Also have another 69 convetible we drive for fun. When it comes to new cars I need some education but can still hold my own (I hope).

Now, down to business.
My truck will not start and we are a one care family right now excluding hobby and project cars. Here is a summary.....

Drove 40 min to see family and the truck (2002 Explorer 4.6V8 110kmi) began to run rough after 30 minutes. Slight sputters. Been there before and thought it was likely the battery. Got to the place and turned off the truck. No reststart. Headlights were dim and no click click of the solenoid like the battery was low. We had radio and dash. Purchssed new bat at Autozone and had old one tested. They said it was dead and machine read replace. Put in new bat, turn key, no dice. All the electronics work but no click click. Turn the key and nothing. Cousin loaded it up on a trailer and brought us home. (Thanks Russ!!) Me thinks solenoid or starter.

Anyone want to way in? Like starter relays or fuses in funky places. No story will be refused. Never know what whacky story puts me on the right track. I have my "Chitlins" book out and am looking up the location of the solenoid and wiring for fuse links as well as the starter relay or fuse if it has one.

Here is my checklist

1. Dead battery replaced....done

2. Relays and fuses. I have my Chiltons book out and am reading another post from today with the exact same problem. I need to check fuses and relays but do not have them locsted yet. Could use some help here.