Hello... I just bought an Explorer Sport Trac! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Hello... I just bought an Explorer Sport Trac!

BlacTrac71

Reaction score
City, State
Piscataway, NJ
Year, Model & Trim Level
'01 Sport Trac
Hello all,

On New Year's Eve I got bit by the Explorer Bug so I found myself an '01 Sport Trac. I've been eyeing them up for a few months and finally decided to pull the trigger. I'm loving the fact that it's a jack-of-all-trades and can't wait for Mother Nature to dump a load of slushy crap on the ground so I can twist the drive control knob to "4X4 High."

Here's the part where I prattle on about the cars I've owned so unless you're extremely bored, you should probably head over to that excellent post about LED dome lights.

I've been bouncing back and forth between Detroit iron and Japanese steel for most of my life, so I truly appreciate both types of cars. My first ride was a '78 Mercury Cougar with a hood so long you could launch F-16's from it. Less than a year after I got it, my dad gave me his 4-speed manual '77 Datsun pick-up so that we could give the Cougar to a friend who was in a pinch and needed a car with an automatic. The Datsun was a rust bucket -- and that's being generous. Back then I thought it was completely normal to have to cover a giant holes in the driver's footwell by pop-riveting pieces of metal over them. Surely every car got repaired with $.11 rivets and a flattened galvanized trash can lid?