can't remove rear brake rotors - disc | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

can't remove rear brake rotors - disc

cjbarker02

Reaction score
City, State
Drexel Hill, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
97 Control Trac
Hi, I am new to this post and I am finding it useful already. I am rrying to remove rear disc brake rotors on a 97 and they just won't come off. I romoved the wheel and the brake calipers but I am unsure if I need to remove the heat shield and slippers on the sides of the calipers. It seems like it comes off by loosening the 4 bolts on the axel. I tried doing this for a second and decided I should wait to get a another opinion before removing them. I also unscrewed the little wheel inside the rotor to untighten the emergency brake. Does anybody know which direction that little wheel should go?? It think the problem might be that the rotors are just too tight. they look very old and corroded. Should I just hit them as hard as I can?? Any insight would help. Thanks!
chris

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

You just need to remove the caliper and caliper bracket. The rotors are a little tough to get off because they're rusted on. You need to get yourself a 5 LB sledge. Start by pounding in a star like motion on the outside edge on the front of the rotor. Then position the hammer behind the rotor and pull it towards you. This usually will be enough to break it loose.